Bits and Bobs

I know it’s been ages since I’ve updated my blog here.  A lot has happened since I was in the UK.  My BF came out for a most amazing visit to see me in the US, since I live here now, and we had a most fantastic time together.  As he is finishing school and still working, he had to return home to England.  So now I am here in the States trying to find a job and hold out as best as I can until I see him again hopefully at Christmas.  I know especially when winter hits, it’ll be especially hard for me.  I don’t know if it’s because it makes my nights more lonely or because life seems a little bit more harsh during the winter time.  Winter by the way is my most hated season.  I require, if I can help it, a fair dose of sunshine now and again, something that winter does not provide enough of.

So in light of me being back in the States, things on the cooking front have been very slow and probably will continue to be so.  I’m so behind on posting pictures on here it’s not even funny, plus, I’m nearly at my uploading limit with Flickr, thus probably why you haven’t seen many new pics on there either.  But despite not cooking/baking nearly as much I did in the UK, and my BF having to return there, and not having a job at the moment, there is one thing that I am glad to have accomplished: getting a new cell phone.  I am also slowly but steadily making squares for a crocheted afghan–granny squares.  So I know I will be SO happy when I’ve completed it, which won’t be for a while.  But how many people do you know in this day and age still make blankets?  With their own two hands?  Uh, no one!  So I’m proud that I defy the odds!

Oh, on a foodie note, today I did visit a local dairy farm with my mom.  It was reminiscent of when I used to buy direct from the farmers/producers at the weekly village market.  We bought butter, ice cream, and a kraut burger (interestingly enough they had that and cinnamon rolls for sale–both of which I’d like to try).  They also sold beef/steaks, milk (of course) and cheese curds.  So I think I’d definitely on the occasional weekend pay another visit to this local dairy farm.  Do I think we need more places like this around here?  Heck yes I do!  But for now, I can only take what I can get.

Anyways, that’s all for now.  Just wanted to give a little update with me.  Hopefully I can get some more new pics on here soon so that my blog isn’t always 100% writing all the time.  Sometimes I like just looking at pictures because they can convey so much.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

